J.S. Bach English Suites Nos. 1 – 3

Recorded at St John Chrysostom Church, Newmarket, Ontario, Canada, 18–21 September 2014
Producers: Norbert Kraft & Bonnie Silver
Engineer & Editor: Norbert Kraft
Strings: Savarez Guitars: Andres D. Marvi, Granada (GK); Simon Marty, Sydney (DC)
Booklet Notes: Graham Wade
This recording is co-financed and supported by the Montenegrin Ministry of Culture
Special thanks to: Carlo Marchione, Vanja Lisjak, Norbert Kraft and Rachel Schiff
Cover Photo of Montenegrin Guitar Duo by Luka Bošković

(arr. Montenegrin Guitar Duo for 2 guitars)
1. I. Prelude
2. II. Allemande
3. III. Courante I
4. IV. Courante II
5. IV. Double I
6. IV. Double II
7. V. Sarabande
8. VI. Bourree I – VII. Bourree II
9. VIII. Gigue

(arr. Montenegrin Guitar Duo for 2 guitars)
10. I. Prelude
11. II. Allemande
12. III. Courante
13. IV. Sarabande
14. V. Bourree I – II
15. VI. Gigue

(arr. Montenegrin Guitar Duo for 2 guitars)
16. I. Prelude
17. II. Allemande
18. III. Courante
19. IV. Sarabande
20. V. Gavotte I – II
21. VI. Gigue

Related discography:

The versatility of the suite form proved well suited to Johann Sebastian Bach in his instrumental works, and the English Suites are no exception. These are distinct from Bach’s other suites with their quasi-improvisatory opening Preludes, and further movements encompassing a wide range of moods and styles from lively dances to the pensive intensity of the slow Sarabandes. The Montenegrin Guitar Duo’s fresh and historically informed performances of these works have been acclaimed as “simply ravishing” (American Record Guide). Volume 1 of this two-volume series can be heard on Naxos 8.573473

Produced by Vanja Lisjak, Morris Studio, Zagreb
Published by the Montenegrin Music Center
Recorded at Dom udruge Češka beseda, Zagreb